Gone

Remember those times when you feel like you’ve been away or busy for what seems like forever? That’s been this month for me. The first week was all prep for the weeks to come. The second week I agreed to house sit for some friends while they vacationed. While I was doing that I was also working a temporary job moving a store to a new location. So I was not only living in someone else’s house I was also doing a new job working 9+ hours a day. Since I’m a student, working that many hours was different for me. After I finished that I went on vacation with my entire family. I love spending time with them but sometimes they drive me nuts.

After I got back from that, I along with several other adults took 19 teens from our church to camp. They packed a weeks worth of activities into 40 hours, so it was a whirlwind weekend.

Then, in the midst of all that craziness, I got a phone call from my admissions counselor telling me that I have officially been admitted AND got a $10,000 a year scholarship! I am now on my way to doing something I love at a college that I feel comfortable and enjoy being at. Only 62 more days until move in day!

After being gone and surrounded by lots of people out of my normal environment, I am exhausted. I had a great time experiencing new things, spending time with those I love, and seeing teens grow in their walk with Christ. However, I had to be on around 90% of the time. All you introverts can feel my pain. My sister (a super extrovert) just keeps going. She invited me to hang out at my aunt’s house this evening but I just don’t have the energy or motivation to do anything but sit here. I’m more mentally “there” than I was yesterday after returning from camp but I’m not completely recovered from it all. Then tomorrow I have a procedure at 6:15 that I’m kind of nervous about so that just adds to it all. Hopefully after I recover from that I’ll be back to normal or at least closer to normal that I am now.

I’m trying to enjoy my time at home while I can because I don’t know how much I’ll get to be here while I’m in school. I’m very excited to begin this new journey but I am so nervous to basically start over socially.

Leave a comment